Social Media Muse

Infusing Social Media with Spiritual Chocolate

Are you sure you don’t want to change your mind?

leave a comment »

“Gillian: Are you sure you won’t change your mind? Spock: Is there something wrong with the one I have?”~ The Voyage Home

I just changed my mind, even though I think there is nothing wrong with the one I have! I deleted my Foursquare account. And it felt so good!

The reason why I deleted my account is because someone checked in at a business location which also happens to be a residential place. I have never seen this person visiting the location, so why would he check in several times and become the mayor?

I became alarmed, could I be stalked? Who is this person and why did he do this? What is going to happen next? Privacy is a fragile thing and in this Social Media age it needs to be guarded carefully.

I thought about the advantage for me (personally) to use Foursquare, and I could not come up with one. It is good for the businesses who are being visited. I like to support local businesses and I don’t mind giving them some free publicity, but not at the cost of my own safety and privacy.

This applies to all Social Media tools, ask yourself: Is this the tool that I should use and am I able to use it well enough to accomplish my strategic marketing goals?

Written by Monique DiCarlo

July 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

